Dental Alumni Board


The Dental Alumni Board consists of dental alumni who serve the needs and interests of Georgetown University, the Georgetown University Alumni Association, and the dental alumni population. The Georgetown University School of Dentistry (1901-1990) has approximately 3,400 dental alumni and the Dental Alumni Board works to plan and promote activities to bring dental alumni together and encourage a continued connection to Georgetown University.

  • View the 2022-2023 Dental Alumni Board members

    Thomas R. A’Becket, D.D.S (C’74, D’77)
    Ted Burnett, D.D.S. (D’88)-Chair
    Eric S. Cantor, D.D.S. (D’90)
    Brendan Cooney, D.D.S. (D’84, MS’88)
    Peter Hakan Durudogan, D.D.S. (D’87)
    Dennis Flanagan D.D.S. (D’71)
    Richard Herbison, D.D.S. (D’71)
    Alfred LaPorta, D.D.S. (D’87)
    Sabita Smail, D.D.S. (D’89)


Annually, Georgetown School of Dentistry alumni have the opportunity to submit a self-nomination to be considered for the Dental Alumni Board. Board members serve a three-year term, and typically, candidates are active participants in School of Dentistry alumni activities.

Board Member Responsibilities

If you are interested in applying for a position on the board, please carefully review the Dental Board Member Responsibilities below.

  1. Members must serve a three-year term and may serve two consecutive terms. Term requirements follow a fiscal calendar year (July 1-June 30).
  2. Members are expected to attend two of the three board meetings each year.

Application Process

Nominations are now open for the Dental Alumni Board.

For a dental alumna/us to nominate themselves to be a Board member, a completed nomination packet can be submitted by sending your curriculum vitae to and by completing the online nomination form.

The form should be completed by Friday, April 19, 2024. Nomination packets will be shared with the board after the application deadline. New members will be notified of their acceptance and will be asked to participate in the next board meeting in October 2024.

For questions, please contact or call 202-687-6673.