Club of Metropolitan Atlanta

 

An unforgetable evening with Atlanta Hawks majority owner and Georgetown Alum Tony Ressler along with Chief Revenue Officer and Georgetown Alum, Andrew Saltzman (B '87) on Friday January 27.  We were joined by Oliver Ressler ('16) who added to the conversation about the Hawks and their new direction for the Atlanta Community!  Hoya Saxa!

 

THIS WEEK:   Game Watch at The Gathering Spot, 384 Northyards Blvd., Atlanta

Join us on Tuesday February 7 @ 7:00 pm for Georgetown versus Villanova  (or also known as Villa-NO-FUN)

Looking ahead:  

*     Game watches:  Saturday February 25 vs. St. Johns.  Saturday March 4 vs. Villanova

*    Community Service with Crossroads Ministries and Clyde's Kitchen.  Look for date in late March, early April.

*     Wine Women and Spirituality.  April.  Registration to come.

*    Save the date of Thursday, April 27 for an evening with Alexandra Reeves Givens, the Executive Director of Georgetown University's Institute for Law and Technology.  More details to follow.

*      Cristo Rey Atlanta Jesuit High School Move - weekend of June 3-4.  Registration coming soon.

We have more events in the works for you!  So spread the word and be sure to join your Metro Atlanta Club.

Upcoming Events

Announcements

Have you heard about Hoya Gateway 2.0? We’ve relaunched Hoya Gateway on an all new platform, Partner Grove, a Hoya founded company! Sign up at hoyagateway.georgetown.edu to be an alumni mentor to students no matter where you live or your area of expertise.

Current Club Happenings

The winners of the Writing Contest 2016 received their awards at the Winter Gala last weekend at The Gathering Spot.  The winners are:  First Place - Jonathan Lauria, Landmark Christian School, Fayetteville; Second Place: Jackson Grant, Mount Pisgah Christian School, Roswell;  Third Place:  Iman Hoque, Dunwoody High School, Dunwoody.  Congratulations!

Accolades

 

The Georgetown Club of Metropolitan Atlanta is thrilled to have Lucy Flinn (C '86) receive the prestigious 2016 Charles R. Fazio Volunteer of the Year for clubs with under 2,000 alumni.  Lucy is a dedicated volunteer with the Atlanta Club, always willing to step up to chair an event or volunteer.  She served on the Board as Secretary and recently chaired the  inaugural "Women, Wine, Spirituality and Art" event, attracting women from local alumni clubs in addition to Georgetown.  The award was given by our own Atlanta Hoya Curtis Romig during the Winter Leadership Weekend, February 3, 2017.  Congratulations Lucy!

 

Leadership

Looking for ways to get involved with your Georgetown Club of Metro Atlanta? Email Rebecca at atlantahoyas@georgetown.edu. Are you interested in joining the club board or a standing committee? We're always looking for more help with planning and staffing events, sharing ideas, managing communications, and spreading the word. Join us!

Rebecca Welsh O'Connor (MBA'85)President atlantahoyas@georgetown.edu
Lisa Collins (SFS'01, L'04)Vice President lisanicolehall@yahoo.com
Kevin Peak (SFS'93)Treasurer kevin.peak@gmail.com
John Moye (C'98)Secretaryjmoye@kilpatricktownsend.com
Alisha Stewart (SCS'14)Communications Chairans95@georgetown.edu
Kathryn Robertson (L'14)Events Chairk.robertson987@gmail.com
Charles Sykes MD (M'88)BOD Emeritus Cesykes@comcast.net
DaQuaan Carter (B'01)Board Memberdaquaan.carter@gmail.com
Cicely Garrett (B'01)Board Membercicelycmgarrett@gmail.com
Gregg Ficery (B'88)Board Membergregg@integgra.com
Ryan Wilson (C'12, L'15)Board Member rmwilson87@gmail.com
Tiffany Davis (C'94)Board Membertmd@georgetown.edu
Deirdre Wolff (B'85)Board Memberdeirdrewolff@gmail.com
Jill Bernstein (B'08)Board Memberjill.h.bernstein@gmail.com
Jody Foster (MPP'95)Board Memberjfoster@symphonycoo.com
Kenneth Mitchell (C'09, S'12)Board Memberkmitchell87@gmail.com
Lauren Smeeding (N'06)Board Memberlauren.beth.smeeding@gmail.com
Joshua Waller (C'04)Board Memberjwaller1776@gmail.com
J Chase Miller (B'08)Board Memberj.chase.miller@gmail.com
Catie Strait ScottBoard Member (C'03)cscott@pyapc.com
Kiara GreenBoard Memberkg575@georgetown.edu
Curtis Romig (C'04)Board member and Board of Governorscurtis.romig@bryancave.com
Sarah Tripodi (N'81)BOD Emeritus